jump to navigation

Berlin Time for Lonesome Individualism October 4, 2009

Posted by Steven in Freetime.
Tags:
trackback

The time of ‘Golden’ October 2009 and the German Holiday to celebrate the reunion of East and West perfectly set the stage for another visit to the capital.

With great tam tam and with only little stress I have arrived in the inspirational capital on October the 2nd. I met Thomas and friends dropped off the bags, grabbed a coffee and then immediately joined the party scene of “Schöneberg” for a “Greek Party”. Quite an odd experience that was – but very much fun. We were singing cheesy songs, dancing, drinking and later on we were even joining the crowd in destroying old dishes (which were handed out for the public’s amusement).

The night night was dominated by a quick visit to Ingo’s new house. He had already killed a couple of Vodka bottles and so did the rest of the audience. I met Patrick (from Salzburg) there.

The Saturday started off quite interesting. It was a slow morning with a quick shopping tour to Berlin’s main train station (the crowd was crazy because pretty much that station was the only spot with open stores). But after I got that out of the way it was again a nice relaxing morning.

For the late mid of the day I had a fitness meeting planned at yet another of these awful fitness first temples. It actually turned out to be a very interesting activity. With my tired eyes it was medium-effective workout but I met with Marcel there and the joint communication in the lower levels of the building proved again to be quite inspirational.

After some tweening time in between I fought my way through to the “Wedding“. There I enjoyed the fun feeling at the “German House” again and had to use the time with friends to re-install 2 original Macs. It was fun and fortunately it all went well.

Two Taxi rides and the feeling that Berlin is really big brought me back to my favorite “Prenzlauer Berg” where I enjoyed Thomas’ birthday party! My friends were scratching with their feet on the pavement while I was singing “Cowboy und Indianer” with Nicole. Off we went to the Schwuz party (which was quite horrid) and then left all remaining friends to go alone with Lukas to “Kino International“. The parties itself: mediocre. We could have left that out. What’s nice was that we met Roy again who looked good as always.

I actually slept at Lukas’ that night and I must say it was relaxed and casual as always. The next Sunday was covered with Sunbeams and a Coffee-Shop to Coffee-Shop tour. It was very nice. The talks were deep and made me think about everything – live – love – future – past and all what’s important.

And with fellow Berliners we have seen the giants.

What struck me after that nice Sunday and after that weekend in general – the time in Berlin and the life of the Berliners seemed more lonesome than ever! By choice or not the people I have seen the people I have met they run around hectic and plagued by communication over-kill but they never really seem to arrive. I had endless conversations about the past with the one and only experience and about unrealistic expectations of the future.. But what about the ‘now’? Now everyone is busy, everyone knows everyone… But it seems just a stage in between stages.

At least I have seen: No new families. No peer-groups that last and no people who step back and really spend time with each other.

Maybe it was just because I myself was running around squeezing many activities into one short weekend. But it really did get me thinking.

In the end: Berlin was again a kick and an inspiration for me! And my old capital left a slightly bitter aftertaste. Which in turn is just as much contributing to the whole experience.

loveberlin-1

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

