jump to navigation

Mac OS X Lion: Disable Resume per Application August 14, 2011

Posted by Steven in The-Web.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

After I upgraded to Lion I did use Quicktime a couple of times, the Quicktime X Player that is. It worked mostly as expected but I noticed after quitting and restarting, that the Resume feature was really getting in the way.. The Player re-opened all the old movies I’ve already watched. That’s certainly not what I wanted and certainly not very efficient in order to “resume” anything. So I poked around and found this guide to disable the feature:

http://hjerpbakk.blogspot.com/2011/08/disable-os-x-lion-resume-per.html

Resume on Application basis

Let me document again what needs to be done to disable Resume on an application basis:

  1. In System Preferences this setting can be disabled system wide by disablingGeneral > Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps.
  2. Pressing Option  when quitting an application from the menu or using Cmd+Q will disable Resume for the last session. Cmd+Q = quit and resume later,Opt+Cmd+Q = quit and forget the open windows.
  3. From the Terminal the Resume functionality can be disabled on a per application basis by using the command: defaults write [application identifier] NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false. For example defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false will disable Resume for QuickTime after a restart. Issuing the command again usingtrue instead of false, will re-enable Resume for the application.
Finding the application identifier
In order to find the application identifier to use in the command above, Activity Monitor can be used.
  1. Open Activity Monitor
  2. In the main view select the Application where you would like to get the App Identifier from
  3. Click “Sample Process”
  4. Make sure in the Display drop-down “Sample Text” is selected
  5. Look for the “Identifier:” information and there you have the text you need to insert into above command.

Resume General Preference:

  1. Open System Preferences
  2. General
  3. In the second to last section de-select: “Restore Windows when quitting and re-opening apps”
Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

WPKube

technology and life hacking

CodeinWP Blog

Designer's guide to WordPress

Elegant Themes Blog

technology and life hacking

WPBeginner

technology and life hacking