jump to navigation

And I thought of: ‘Swimming’ October 31, 2011

Posted by Steven in Freetime, Places.
Tags: , ,
trackback

It happened again. And it happened in Amsterdam on the 30th of October 2011. I don’t really wish to go into any more details. But I feel I must attempt to describe how I felt during this amazing party night from 5 to 2.

It started with an absolute unbearable tension building up to the event. Regular visitors were getting in touch with me and dropped the one or other detail leading to an overall mosaic of a picture. Nothing like the real thing. I was generally coming very much unprepared. So last minute shopping had to be done which also did not go very straight forward. Finally we had all supplies together and I still was excited. Then we had to wander through the busiest street of Amsterdam that Sunday – and we had to get our outfits on right there. I felt like s***.

Well believe you me. We got in. Safely. Sound. Already half deaf. Straight on to the restrooms. Deep breath. I felt good. I mean the crowd was already a bit crazy. You have never seen so much naked skin around good old English Tea Time. Well off to the first round. We wandered around and checked out the multiple floors. Status at that time: Lounge empty, hard house floor empty. Main floor and rotunda: packed. We trotted around the rotunda for a while – I mean seriously… It was just early afternoon. Well but we know the boys. Just can’t start early enough :) so the first drinks were quickly ordered and downed :) . So then everything began to blur. For me actually not so much. Because of all the tension up front I already felt a bit blurry. But save all the speculation of course I was not prone to the effects of the first drinks. We took it easy and danced slowly. Then I got hit. I felt so awful. All measures of care were not working anymore.. I felt so hot. I was burning up and in a matter of one minute or so, I was wet – from head to toe. I was about to say to myself (no; actually I said to myself) “go” – “let’s leave in 20mins”. I repositioned myself. Fortunately the strange effects wore off quickly and I was able to cope with the situation. In the end I was lucky to feel a high cold breeze every 5 minutes or so. That made me quite happy and quite comfortable.

My eyes opened for the first time. The room became larger. And I realized movement and people around me. Something snapped and I found strong affection for the exotic type. Time passed quickly chances formed were let passed and were turned to gold. Sometimes ruined too. When I asked myself .. what is really important.. what do you really make out of this? Then I thought to myself: Swimming. Swimming is important.

And that’s how it was. The actual touch was unimportant; the quality to convince or time the strategy of any person to go home with you (or just upstairs) was unimportant. The big event and your friends were important; and… swimming.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

