jump to navigation

Interesting Tablets: ASUS T100 TA October 31, 2013

Posted by Steven in gadgets.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Fact of the matter: I have sold my iPad 3. It’s a strange story.. I loved my iPad .. but also I became increasingly unhappy with the space on it and with me managing app updates / game downloads / cleaning up on the iPad. Also after updating the iPad to iOS 7 – it felt a bit sluggish. So basically I am on my iPhone all the time and I had this big iPad lying around which looses value by the day and it didn’t really make me happy anymore.

So I sold it – and I am happy with that decision.

Now I am totally aware that a tablet for me (as for most people) is a luxury device (a “third” device next to phone and laptop / computer). So I said to myself I don’t immediately need a new tablet. Also the market is so interesting right now so I want to explore all options.

So with this little series I am taking a look around at the options in the market.

First up: ASUS T100 (Transformer Book T100 TA as it is called in my country). Specs at gdgt….

I must say: I am absolutely surprised by this device. Reviewers throughout the web are touting how well it’s build how versatile it is and at 379 € what a reasonable deal it is.

Summary:

  • Full 32bit Windows 8.1
  • 10.1 inch
  • Atom Baytrail SOC (Quad Core – 1.3 GHz)
  • 32 GB SSD
  • microSD
  • 2 GB RAM
  • HD Ready Resolution – 1366 x 768 Pixel (IPS Panel)
  • USB 3.0
  • Tablet mode / Laptop mode (dock with keyboard included)

Performance seems really good and as I said this may be a reasonable device. Just the resolution is no quite retina and not up to par with things like the iPad.

+ more capacity then the compatition

+ included dock

+ good performance and reasonable price

– lower resolution

– Windows 8.1

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Facebook IQ

Real Life. Real Insight. Real Action.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

TechCrunch

Startup and Technology News

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.